Summary of America and Indian Nuclear Society Agreement of Cooperation and Two Year Indo-U.S. Civil Nuclear Commemorative Events Mumbai, 8 October 2010

Hon'ble Union Minister of Power, Shri. Sushil Kumar Shinde, Government of India commemorated the two-year anniversary of the Indo-U.S. Civil Nuclear Agreement with more than 50 senior officials of government and industry from both countries. U.S. Consul General Paul Folmsbee hosted the Minister and guests at his residence for a private dinner. The dinner was preceded by a signing ceremony for a memorandum of cooperation between the Indian Nuclear Society and the American Nuclear Society that had been approved by the Presidents and Vice-Presidents of the respective societies.

The Hon'ble Minister delivered a commemorative address, highlighting two years of cooperation between India and the U.S. since the Agreement was signed by President Bush in the White House on 8 October 2008. The Consul General felicitated the Minister and noted the strong U.S. nuclear presence in India and the anticipation for the visit from U.S. President Obama in one month's time.

Guests included Government of India representatives of the Department of Atomic Energy (Dr. Ravi Grover, Dr. S.K. Malhotra), Nuclear Power Corporation of Indian Limited (Shri S.A. Bhardwaj, Shri K.C. Purohit), Bhabha Atomic Research Centre (Dr. V Venugopal, Shri Kanwar Raj), and officers of the Indian Nuclear Society (Shri R.K. Singh, Secretary; Shri G.D. Mittal, Treasurer; Dr. S.K. Malhotra, Joint Secretary; Shri S.K. Ghosh, Executive Committee). Representatives of Indian industry included Hindustan Construction Company, Larsen & Toubro, J.M. Baxi, Walchanagar, Tata Power, DSK Legal, State Bank of India, Infosys and others. The event was co-sponsored by the Indo-American Chamber of Commerce, incoming IACC president Pradeep Udhas of KMPG introduced the Minister.

U.S. representatives included the American Nuclear Society, American Society of Mechanical Engineers, Idaho National Laboratory, General Electric, NuScale Power, Westinghouse, Urenco/LES, Holtec International, Marsh and McLennan Companies, Oak Investors, Vijay Technologies, Canberra, and Texas A&M University.

Participants also hosted a U.S. Pavilion for more a than a dozen U.S. nuclear organizations at the India Nuclear Energy expo in Goregaon during 7-9 October 2010. The U.S. Pavilion was inaugurated during a reception on 7 October 2010 that was hosted by Westinghouse and General Electric.

The American Nuclear Society promotes the awareness and understanding of the application of nuclear science and technology through its 11,000 members. http://www.ans.org/

The Indian Nuclear Society promotes the advancement of nuclear science, engineering and technology related to the atomic nucleus, and of allied sciences and arts through it 5,000 members. http://www.ins-india.org/

Established in 1968, the Indo-American Chamber of Commerce (IACC) is a non-government, industry led and managed organization, playing a proactive role in India's development process and serves as a much needed link between the business communities of India and the United States of America. IACC is the only bilateral Chamber of Commerce in India, which is committed to development of Indo-US business and trade relations.

http://www.iaccindia.com



U.S. Consul General Paul Folmsbee felicitates Hon'ble Union Minister of Power, Shri. Sushil Kumar Shinde on the occasion of the two-year anniversary of the Indo-U.S. Civil Nuclear Agreement.



Memorandum of Cooperation signing ceremony between the Indian Nuclear Society and American Nuclear Society. At table (left to right): Dr. Corey McDaniel (ANS International Committee), Dr. David Hill (ANS Fellow), Dr. V. Venugopal (INS past Vice-President); Shri R.K. Singh (INS Secretary).



Minister and Consul General cake cutting ceremony, featuring representatives of (left to right) Westinghouse (Balendra Sutharshan and Ramesh Deshpande), NuScale Power (Corey McDaniel), India Nuclear Society (R.K. Singh and V. Venugopal), General Electric (Shailesh Sheth and Pramod Joshi), Dept of Atomic Energy (S.K. Malkhotra and Ravi Grover), Idaho National Laboratory (David Hill), IACC (Pradeep Udhas and Anand Desai), Minister Shinde, Consul General, and Tata Power (S.A. Bohra).



Commemorative cake, prepared by TH Bakes (http://www.thbakes.com/), a classic American bakery that supports the Tender Hands children's shelter in Navi Mumbai (http://www.tenderhands.org/).



Introductions of DAE Summit featured speakers (left to right): Dr. R.K. Sinha, Director of Bhabha Atomic Research Centre; Hon'ble Union Minister of Power, Shri. Sushil Kumar Shinde, Government of India; and Dr. Srikumar Banerjee, Secretary of Department of Atomic Energy. U.S. speakers from GE, NuScale, and Westinghouse spoke on the CEO's Forum, Idaho National Laboratory spoke on human resources.



The ANS/ASME U.S. Pavilion "Lounge", situated opposite of the 30-company French Pavilion, displayed information on more than 30 U.S. nuclear suppliers and organizations. ANS and ASME members (pictured) distributed membership forms and promoted U.S. nuclear codes and standards.



13 U.S. nuclear organizations participated directly in the U.S. Pavilion. NuScale, Westinghouse, Holtec, INL, ANS and ASME exhibited, GE, Urenco, KPMG, US NIC and Texas A&M participated as logo sponsors.





GE and Westinghouse hosted a reception for more than 150 exhibitors to inaugurate the U.S. Pavilion.





U.S. Pavilion guests included DAE Secretary Dr. S. Banerjee (left) and the Station Director for Tarapur Atomic Power Station (TAPS), S. Bhattacharya (right). Buses provided transportation for more than 80 staff from TAPS and more than 50 from the Bhabha Atomic Research Centre (BARC) to attend the expo.

Sampling of press clips.





Shinde on Indo US civil nuclear ties

-Union Power Minister Sushilkumar Shinde was present at the signing of a memorandum of cooperation between the Indian Nuclear Society and the American Nuclear Society on the occasion of the second anniversary of the Indo-US Civil Nuclear Agreement. The Minister delivered a commemorative address summarising the two years of cooperation between the two countries. The ceremony was held at the residence of the US Consul General Paul Folmsbee.







अमारकच वााणज्य दूत पाल फॉल्म्स्वी यांच्या तिमासस्थानी सदर समारंभ आयोजित करण्यात आला होता. त्याप्रसंगी डॉ. कोरे मॅकडॅनीयल, डॉ. डेव्हिड हिल, डॉ. वेणुगोपाल, आर.के. सिंग, नानीक रुपानी आदी.



शाल-क्षमेंका कर्व करातस्य दुस्तमा कर्याच्य दिस्तरियांच केंद्रीय क्षमीको सुमीमकुमा जिले काँगे भारा-क्षमीका नाणी अनु सक जन्म साम्बेदाय करात्राय स्वास्त्रमा कराव्यत आस्त्रा. मुंबईड अमेरिको शाणिका दूर योग क्षोमकानी परेणा नियासकारी याद समा जिल कराव्यत आस्त्र होता. स्यासांभी डॉ. कोर्से संकर्तनियाल, जी. देवति हत, जी. नेगाणियाल, आ. के. लिए, तसीक कराणी, एव श्री आरो मानवार प्रशिक्त होते.