Delegate T. Scott Garrett M.D.

Virginia House of Delegates



"The Virginia Nuclear Energy Consortium and Legislation Concerning Nuclear in Virginia

March 18, 2014 at 5:30 p.m.

At AREVA, Inc. Old Forest Road, Lynchburg, VA

Del. Garret sponsored legislation to create the Virginia Nuclear Energy Consortium with the intent of making Virginia a national and global leader in nuclear energy by leveraging the expertise and resources it has available to attract nuclear energy projects, provide training and education programs, and facilitate valuable partnerships. Governor Bob McDonald appointed the following members to board in December 2013.

- Marshall Cohen of Fairfax, Vice President of Government Affairs and Communications at The Babcock and Wilcox Company
- David Christian of Toano, Executive Vice President of Dominion Resources and CEO of Dominion Generation
- Colleen Deegan of Rockville, Maryland, Vice President of Government Programs for Bechtel
- Donald R. Hoffman of Bethesda, Maryland, President and CEO of Excel Services Corporation and President of the American Nuclear Society
- Maureen Matsen of Richmond, Counsel for Christopher Newport University
- Matthew J. Mulherin of Yorktown, President of Newport News Shipbuilding and Corporate Vice President of Huntington Ingalls Industries
- Dr. Ganapati Myneni of Yorktown, Senior Scientist at Jefferson Lab
- Michael Rencheck of Powell, Ohio, President and CEO of AREVA, Inc.

- Ron Sones of Gladstone, Professor of Business at Liberty University and President of SIBS LLC
- Kiyoshi Yamauchi of Arlington, Chief Executive Director of Mitsubishi Nuclear Energy Systems, Inc.
- Director of the Department of Mines, Minerals and Energy or his designee
- President and Chief Executive Officer of the Virginia Economic Development Partnership or his designee
- The Chancellor of the Virginia Community College System or his designee
- The President of the University of Virginia or his designee
- The President of Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University or his designee
- The President of George Mason University or his designee
- The President of Virginia Commonwealth University or his designee

Speaker Biography:

Del. T. Scott Garrett M.D. was elected to the Virginia House of Delegates in November 2009, and represents Virginia's 23rd House District. Virginia's 23rd House District includes parts of Amherst County, Bedford County, and the City of Lynchburg. Delegate Garrett serves on the Appropriations, Transportation, and Health, Welfare and Institutions committees.

Schedule:

- Social Hour 5:30 p.m.
- Dinner 6:00 p.m.
- Presentation and Discussion 6:45 p.m.
- Adjourn 8:00 p.m.
- Directions to AREVA Office Building
 - o 3315 Old Forest Road, Lynchburg, VA 24501

COST: \$20 (\$10 for students) includes dinner.

Reservations for the meeting must be made by 4 p.m. on Monday, March 17, 2014. Please fill out the registration form below. Please address any questions to <u>Caleb</u> <u>Tomlin</u>.